The Naked Muse

The Naked Muse_002

is out now with Valley Press.

‘Swain is charmingly cerebral’ – a review at Chronic Bibliophilia.

In the Times Literary Supplement‘In her journey she discovers that as life is an accumulation of experience, the best paintings are layers and layers, built up. This is an insightful, lyrical memoir which sheds light on the role of nude models depicted by artists throughout the centuries, illuminating both their immortality and invisibility.’

On BBC Radio 4 Start the Week with Grayson Perry and Emma Rice.

On The Monocle Arts Review.

On BBC Radio Scotland’s Janet Forsyth Show (23 min in).

On The Early Hour.

At i news.

On BBC Radio Oxford.

On Today FM, talking with Neil Delamere.

“Illuminating and beautiful.” A review by Caroline Jowett.

On BBC Radio Cornwall with cheeky David White.

About the Venus, for Art UK.

On BBC Radio London with Jo Good.

On BBC Radio Ulster, The Arts Show.

About ‘History’s most fascinating muses’ for BBC History Extra.

On BBC Radio Gloucestershire (41 – 50 min) with Anna King.

A travel guide to Bruges based on my work modelling there.

A lovely, large print feature in Ireland’s Image magazine for July.

An interview with The Glasgow Herald‘s Teddy Jamieson, who writes: It’s a cool, thoughtful piece of work that will make you think… And, inevitably, it’s a book about the body. About how we represent it and how we think about it. In a culture that is increasingly reducing life experience to a series of screens – that is to some degree effectively disembodying us – that seems worth considering.

My ‘Lessons learnt life modelling’ for Good Housekeeping.

review at The Writes of WomanThe Naked Muse is an interesting look at a role which is rarely considered, particularly not from the model’s point-of-view. Swain successfully melds memoir, philosophy and criticism, creating a meditation on the position of the model in the world of art.

‘Kelley Swain’s The Naked Muse is a virtuoso concoction of life writing, meditations on painters and painting, body morphology, travelogue and researched investigation into the ‘gaze’. Full of light and colour, Swain’s prose flows beautifully and her style is very easy on the eye. Fans of Rebecca Solnit or Marina Warner will love this.‘  – Richard Skinner, author of The Mirror

2 thoughts on “The Naked Muse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s