Double the Stars previews…

DtS in front of the remains of the famous 40-foot reflecting telescope made by William Herschel (Caroline's brother).

DtS in front of the remains of the famous 40-foot reflecting telescope made by William Herschel (Caroline’s brother).

 

My thanks to Royal Observatory Public Astronomer Marek Kukula, who is holding Double the Stars in front of the remains of the 40-foot reflector, one of many Herschel ephemera on display at the Royal Observatory Greenwich. We’ll launch the book there at 2pm on Sunday 28th September – save the date!

Also, my thanks to a sister alumnae at Randolph(-Macon Woman’s) College, who sent me a photograph of a poem about Caroline Herschel that she saw on display at Riverviews Artspace in Virginia. It’s interesting to see Caroline’s story from such a different angle – I’m used to thinking of Caroline as rather cynical and down-to-earth, and this is an ephemeral poem, but I particularly enjoy Long’s use of light.

Double the Stars is available from Cinnamon Press.

 

Poem about Caroline Herschel that I hadn't seen before - thanks to Emily Smith!

Poem about Caroline Herschel  – thanks to Emily Smith!

DtS with my friend Caitlin at my favourite place in the world, Napatree Point, RI!

DtS with my friend Caitlin at my favourite place in the world, Napatree Point, RI!

Leave a Reply

