British Society for Literature and Science Conference 2010

And I mean the book is staring at me!

The annual Conference of the British Society for Literature and Science will be held at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle, 8-10 April 2010.

You can read more about the conference here, and note the registration deadline of 15th March.

One highlight of the conference will be a public conversation between myself and novelist Ann Lingard, who will talk about ‘Putting Science into Fiction.’

She has a number of novels to her name, including Seaside Pleasures, the plot of which ties to the naturalist Philip Henry Gosse.

I’m really looking forward to meeting Ann this week, when she talks in Oxford on her new novel, The Embalmer’s Book of Recipes. The book is on my table, staring at me, and I can’t wait to read it. The event is at 7:30 pm and I believe tickets are still available.

Ann used to be a scientist and is the founder of SciTalk, which helps writers – especially fiction-writers – to find out more about modern science and to visit and talk to scientists. A writer after my own heart!

Leave a Reply

