Available now!

I’m delighted to announce the publication of Where Rockets Burn Through: Contemporary Science Fiction Poems from the UK, edited by Russell Jones.

I’m glad to say that myself and a number of poetry friends have poems in this anthology, which is published by Penned in the Margins.

‘Blasting into the future, across alien worlds and distant galaxies, fantastic technologies and potential threats to humanity, Where Rockets Burn Through brings science fiction and poetry together in one explosive, genre-busting collection.

Discover an array of poems by more than forty contemporary UK writers, including Edwin Morgan, Jane Yolen, Ron Butlin, WN Herbert, Ken MacLeod and Kirsten Irving, plus an exclusive essay on Sci-fi poetry by Steve Sneyd.’

This is full of a wonderful range of work, and being a contributor has helped open my mind up to what Sci-fi means. The pieces I have in the collection are what I might think of as astronomically-inspired poems, whilst other contributions are ethereal, abstract, or eerie.

It’s grand to be in an anthology with pieces by Edwin Morgan. One of my favourite poems is ‘The Loch Ness Monster’s Song’, which I’ve heard performed to perfection by Dr John Holmes, author of Darwin’s Bards.