Breakfast with Leonardo and the Queen, revisited

Martin Clayton explains the exhibition.

Before I went to Vienna, I mentioned that I’d been invited to a ‘Blogger’s Breakfast’ and exclusive tour of the ‘Leonardo da Vinci: Anatomist’ exhibit at the Queen’s Gallery in Buckingham Palace.

I’m pleased to say that my review of this has led to my first piece with the British Medical Journal, which is posted here. So I shall not say too much in this post about the exhibit, and ask that you kindly read it in the link, but I will put up a photo of the delightful Martin Clayton, Exhibition Curator, whose job we all must envy enormously.

I also think it’s brilliant that, despite the fact that I was joking in my post about ‘meeting the Queen’ for this event, I did actually see the Queen! By pure coincidence, just as I was leaving the exhibition, I ran smack into crowds assembled to see her ride past in her Carriage to give her Speech at Parliament.

I was able to snap a photo of the Regalia going past in a slightly less ornate carriage, and then I decided to look at the Queen rather than look through my screen, so I didn’t take a photo of her. But it was a perfect end to the morning.

The Regalia.

Leave a Reply

